AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN have announced ‘Splendour Unnoticed’, the third single to be taken from their forthcoming album – As The Morning Dawns We Close Our Eyes – due for release via Prosthetic Records on May 21. Accompanying the single release, the black metal-meets-shoegaze band have shared an accompanying video.

Listen to Splendour ‘Unnoticed’ via Spotify, Apple Music, and Bandcamp.

Pre-order As The Morning Dawns We Close Our Eyes HERE


Speaking on the new single, the band comments: “The track subject is darker than you would think hearing the music. The song itself is about being unnoticed, being lonely, being unable to cope with the world outside, unable to cope with other people – and as a result spiraling out of control into a really dark and narcissistic place, mentally.”

Recorded, mixed and mastered within the confines of the band, AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN remains a project shrouded in mystery and the band is yet to perform live. Their reclusive nature doesn’t detract from the alluring nature of their output – if anything the anonymity adds to the mystery and intrigue. Inspired by the originators of black metal and the gothic doom of the 1990s, AAFCC have created something that pays homage to its roots but remains forward thinking. For fans of Deafheaven and Alcest, there’s plenty to uncover with As The Morning Dawns…

Traversing familiar topics such as love, life, death and eternal existential quandaries, AAFCC combine bleakness and hope, love and death – creating an unforgettable, majestic collection of songs. Recorded over a longer period of time than usual, each track got individual attention and was crafted as a stand alone element of the greater whole. They might not give away much about themselves, but they leave their mark on every one of these eight tracks.

Watch the previously released videos for As The Morning Dawns We Close Our Eyes:
‘Carefully Breathing’

As The Morning Dawns We Close Our Eyes track list:

  1. Carefully Breathing
  2. Of Your Light
  3. In Winter
  4. Splendour Unnoticed
  5. As The Morning Dawns, We Close Our Eyes
  6. Hearts Closed
  7. Melancholia
  8. Last Night I Believed In You

Mchl – Guitars, vocals, keys.
Td – Bass, keys.
Chr – Drums, keys