Today we present ‘Ochre’, the first single from BLOOD AND SUN’s upcoming Ochre (& the collected EPs), a new EP complete with bonus tracks. Available on CD, vinyl, and digital format as of March 31, 2023.

Listen to ‘Ochre’

Luke commented:
“Ochre marks the fatted ram and he bows to take his place.”

Piano and strings dominate this cinematic arrangement as mandolins creep through the hedges. The finishing touches of James Moy’s synthesisers play off the basslines, bringing to mind Angelo Badalamenti. Ritual sacrifice, wooded groves, and tobacco fields on childhood road trips all seep up. An unlikely horn-crowned Moses drenched in Mythric blood!

After the critically acclaimed 2020 album Love & Ashes, BLOOD AND SUN return with Ochre (& the collected EPs): a new EP complete with bonus tracks. Available on relevant formats as of March 31, 2023.

Written by Luke Tromiczak and performed by a rotating group of musicians from across the United States, BLOOD AND SUN are known for dark and haunting songs drawing heavily from Americana and neo-folk – likely to appeal to fans of everything from Of The Wand And The Moon and Steve Von Til to Wovenhand and Echo & The Bunnymen.

The A-side consists of the Ochre EP – four new tracks recorded in rural America between 2020 and 2022. It was produced, mixed, and mastered by legendary American producer Bob Ferbrache. The collected EPs on side B include ‘The Confession’, previously available only on Brave Mysteries’ digital sampler Communion Of Saints, as well as two sold-out releases: the 2016 split with Brittsommar and the Cain’s Orchard EP from 2018.

Formed in 2011, the group has received international praise for its dark, brooding, and gothic songwriting. BLOOD AND SUN thematically wrestles with personal tribulations and drive intertwined with metaphysical and pagan currents, delivering soaring and haunting melodies extolling the heroism and tragedy of life, its joyous excess and the vertigo of fate.

Luke commented:
“These songs mark new workings and collaborations in the pursuit of joy and purpose against isolation and serfdom peppered with a dose of existential dread. ‘Ochre was conceived in rural New England and executed at various home studios across the United States during the years of lockdowns and unrest. I am excited to show you its lush sounds as instrumentations and arrangements have widened and the approach to each song presented here varied. I am also honoured to be able to share – for the first time in analogue format – ‘The Confession’ from the Communion Of Saints compilation.”

Pre-Order Ochre

Ochre Tracklist:
1 – Ochre
2 – Wellspring
3 – Crossroad
4 – Crown
5 – The Confession
6 – At Rest
7 – Cain’s Orchard
8 – Lavender Letters
9 – The Hunt and the fall

Official Site