[Photo Credit: Cäme Roy De Rat]

‘Procession Du Sabbat’ is the new single from French blackened orchestral/operatic ensemble LES CHANTS DU HASARD. The cinematic new hymn comes off the project’s grandiose new full-length, Livre Quart, set for release on June 21st.

An endeavor conceptualized and composed by primary member, Hazard, LES CHANTS DU HASARD was spawned from the notion that metal is a musical style that deals with extreme emotions such as anger, violence, darkness, and despair. The ultimate objective is to initiate an aural experience of those emotions, something more than just music, that would submerge the listener. Notes Hazard, “I created LES CHANTS DU HASARD following a vision of a crawling and ugly opera, in which some light could be found, the same way that [French poet Charles] Baudelaire found beauty in ugliness. This idea has been with me on a daily basis since 2016, when I decided to give it a try and began composing Livre Premier. Livre Quart is the closest I’ve come to realizing this vision.”

“‘Procession Du Sabbat’ is the least operatic song of the album,” he continues. “It could actually be described as progressive, in the sense of progressive rock, with long developments, contrasting parts and a duration close to ten minutes.”

Enter the fantastic, stunning realm of LES CHANTS DU HASARD and experience the immense Livre Quart movement ‘Procession Du Sabbat’

Having dwelled for more than fifteen years within the black metal scene, Hazard released his Livre Premier debut in 2017 under the LES CHANTS DU HASARD banner. He laid there the foundations of his own take of dark music and defined a new genre: “extreme opera” – a sinister approach to orchestral music with elements of black metal. Livre Second was released two years later followed by 2021’s critically lauded Livre Troisième, with each new opus adding a new stone to Hazard’s edifice.

Hazard returned to his black metal roots in 2023 and released Malivore under the moniker Hasard. Described by many as “nightmarish” and listed among many best albums of 2023, Malivore made use of Hazard’s symphonic skills to apply them to black metal as a mirror to LES CHANTS DU HASARD.

And now, Hazard presents the fourth LES CHANTS DU HASARD album, Livre Quart. Featuring professional lyric singers Laura and Christian respectively as soprano and tenor interacting with Hazard’s scorched voice, Livre Quart traverses far darker and more vicious shores than previous offerings.

Livre Quart was recorded, produced, and engineered by Hazard and mastered by Déhà at Opus Magnum Studio with graphic design by Cäme Roy De Rat.

The record will be released on CD, LP and digital formats. Find preorders, where ‘Parmi Les Poussières’ can also be streamed, HERE

Watch for a new video from Livre Quart and more to be issued over the weeks ahead.

Livre Quart Tracklisting:

  1. Chant I – Parmi Les Poussières
  2. Chant II – La Chauve-Souris
  3. Chant III – Le Bruit Du Monde
  4. Chant IV – Sous La Mitre De Fer
  5. Chant V – La Nuit Échappée
  6. Chant VI – Procession Du Sabbat
  7. Chant VII – Les Ombres Vagabondes

Laura – soprano
Christian – ténor
Göran Setitus – voice on “Les Ombres Vagabondes”
Hazard – music, voice, sound engineering