Watch the video for first single from FALSE FED’s Let Them Eat Fake, ‘Echoes Of Compromise’, at THIS LOCATION

Neurot Recordings confirms October 13th as the release date of Let Them Eat Fake, the debut from FALSE FED – the dark punk act formed by members of Discharge, Ministry, Soulfly, Nausea, Amebix, and more. With the news, a video for the lead single ‘Echoes Of Compromise’ has been issued alongside the album’s track listing, preorders, and more.

FALSE FED unites vocalist Jeff Janiak (Discharge, Broken Bones), guitarist Stig C. Miller (Amebix, Zygote), bassist JP Parsons, and drummer Roy Mayorga (Nausea, Ministry, Soulfly, Amebix), who collectively all step outside of their musical comfort zones to present an album of discomfort and rage in the face of reality. In these unprecedented times of global restriction, fear, and the everlasting lack of faith in the hierarchy, FALSE FED has cultivated a heavy sound that is drenched in melody, aggression, and shrouded in darkness; an ominous and dystopian entity that is not bound by genre, yet still offers subtle hints to the creators’ lineage.

“Musically, this album touched on something dark and different,” says Janiak. The dirge-like beats throughout debut album Let Them Eat Fake confirm this description – the music of FALSE FED is the soundtrack to the seedier undertones of society, a quiet, impatient rage at injustice everywhere with one finger pointing firmly towards the establishment.

“I’ve always wanted to work with JJ’s vocals and put something melodic underneath the aggression in his voice, ever since I heard him sing,” says Parsons, although the album’s balanced and holistic sound occurred naturally in the end. “The actual overall balance of it all just happened though… We just wanted to create something different.”

With tracks like the new-wave-inspired ‘Echoes Of Compromise’, the band is certainly heading towards new pastures. It’s an atmospheric kind of sound which Janiak’s brutal vocals sit atop, a perfect blending of past genres to create something new for the members of this band.

The final lyric on this album is, “The one thing we cannot escape is death,” a reference to the inescapable reality of the world as it has been for the last three years and longer, through COVID and more. “My grandmother died back in America, and I was unable to go to her funeral which was really horrible, so that whole period had a lot of doom and gloom for me on a personal level as I’m sure it did for most people,” says Janiak of this lyric becoming the mission statement of the album as a whole. This band provided some much-needed catharsis, something which they have poured into this debut record. “I’m really grateful that we had this project to keep us all busy and take our minds off the grim reality.”

Distractions came in the form of recording, re-recording, sharing ideas, and working remotely. “It was a huge learning process for all of us,” admits Jeff, “None of us have worked like that before so it was a lot of trial and error. We had to do things multiple times before we finally got it right, which was frustrating, but also worth it in the end when it all came together.”

JP adds, “Looking back now the advantage of this distance, for me personally, was that it forced me to grow as a musician and artist. I had to learn a lot and build trust in myself in order to keep up.”

Let Them Eat Fake is an album which presents a remarkable balancing act between the past projects of all its creators and new musical horizons, between darkness and melody, the grimness of the present day and a hope for a better future. The album was recorded by the band, mixed by Roy Mayorga, and mastered by Jack Control at Enormous Door (Darkthrone, Fear, Discharge, Aura Noir).
The new video for ‘Echoes Of Compromise’ was filmed and edited by Darren Green/PunkRockGreeny.

Neurot Recordings will release Let Them Eat Fake on LP, CD, and digitally on October 13th. The vinyl will be pressed on Cloudy Clear w/ Grey Splatter in the US and Grey w/ Black Splatter in EU; both are available in Neurot’s US store. Find preorder options and more HERE

Let Them Eat Fake Track Listing:

  1. Superficial
  2. The Tyrant Dies
  3. Echoes Of Compromise
  4. The Big Sleep
  5. Dreadful Necessities
  6. Mass Debate
  7. The One Thing We Can Not Avoid

Watch for additional audio and video previews from the album and more to be issued over the weeks ahead.

Jeff “JJ” Janiak – vocals
Stig.C.Miller – guitar
JP Parsons – bass
Roy Mayorga – drums