Portland, OR band MORRISON GRAVES share the first single from their forthcoming debut album, Division Rising. via Heaviest of Art. Hear/Share ‘Crane Song’

MORRISON GRAVES is a psychedelic rock project from Oregon, USA. Their moody, fuzzed-out, sound draws influences from late ’60s fuzz and garage, surf, psychedelia, and indie rock. But they infuse these atavistic leanings with heavy saturated guitars and metalgaze drone reminiscent of Black Angels and Dead Meadow. Meanwhile, vocalist Ryan Brown croons over the proceedings like a young Jim Morrison or early Mark Lanegan’s tuneful wail in Screaming Trees.

The group features multi-instrumentalist and founder Gary Jimmerson (Small Sails, This is a Process of a Still Life), bassist Rob Bartleson (Slackjaw, Haywire Recording), and vocalist Ryan Brown.

The band’s debut album Division Rising is a 12-track concept album about gentrification, homelessness, displacement, and socio-economic gaps — issues that currently plague Portland and many other cities across the world. Made during the height of the pandemic, these 3 friends churned out a well-recorded and focused debut. With songs about falling out of love with a city on fire, being lost to the seams of space, and corporate greed, this psych-surf landscape has drawn comparisons to The Doors, Black Angels, Queens Of The Stone Age, and dark spaghetti western music.

Division Rising will be available on LP, CD and digital on March 31, 2023. Pre-orders are available HERE

Division Rising Tracklisting:

  1. Crane Song
  2. Demolition Man
  3. Invincible
  4. The Tunnel
  5. A Puppet Dance
  6. Cardboard Frames
  7. Bent Beyond The Break
  8. Occupation
  9. Ghost Town
  10. Cut By The Same Cloth
  11. And If Your Car Alarm Keeps Going Off, I’ll Smash Out Your Fucking Window
  12. Wartime Song

Official Site