Leading Japanese heavy metal act, ANTHEM, will release their brand-new studio album, Crimson & Jet Black, via Reaper Entertainment on April 21st, today unveiling the record’s artwork, track listing, and first single.

It’s been four years since the release of the band’s critically acclaimed Nucleus full-length – a re-recording of their classic hits with English lyrics. But ANTHEM used the pandemic downtime wisely. Crimson & Jet Black features eleven tracks, once again performed in English.

Comments bassist Naoto Shibata of the band’s first single, ‘Wheels Of Fire’, “Obviously this is the most heavy metal album I have ever made. Experience the monstrous groove generated by the band. You will be the witness of the best album by ANTHEM. I promise that ANTHEM will come to your towns and play. Until then, listen to this incredible album and be blown away.”

Watch ANTHEM’s video for ‘Wheels Of Fire’

After finishing two anniversary tours in 2021 — the band’s thirty-fifth anniversary tour, which had been postponed due to the pandemic restrictions, as well the twentieth anniversary of their reunion tour called the ANTHEM 2001 Vs ANTHEM 2021 Tour — the band began work on their latest offering. Originally scheduled to be completed in the Spring of 2022, band leader Shibata, a perfectionist at heart, decided to enrich each of the songs’ quality and pushed the recording schedule to Summer/Fall. Like previous ANTHEM works, Naoto is the main producer of the album, but this time renowned Swedish producer Jens Bogren, (Arch Enemy, Amon Amarth, Dimmu Borgir, Opeth, etc.) who had previously mixed and mastered Nucleus, is credited as a co-producer.

Crimson & Jet Black Track Listing:

  1. Snake Eyes
  2. Wheels Of Fire
  3. Howling Days
  4. Roaring Vortex
  5. Blood Brothers
  6. Master Of Disaster
  7. Void Ark
  8. Faster
  9. Burn Down The Wall
  10. Mystic Echoes
  11. Danger Flight

Naoto Shibata – Bass
Akio Shimizu – Guitar
Yukio Morikawa – Vocals
Isamu Tamaru – Drums

ANTHEM Online: