[Photo Credit: Kristin Cofer]

As Neurot Recordings, in conjunction with My Proud Mountain, prepares to release Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III, featuring AMENRA, CAVE IN, and MARISSA NADLER, New Noise Magazine is hosting the premiere for a video of NADLER’s cover of ‘Quicksilver Daydreams Of Maria’.

Beloved American singer-songwriter Townes Van Zandt passed away at the age of 52 on January 1st, 1997, in Mount Juliet, Tennessee. His music touches people. Many believe he was a genius, and sing his sad, brilliant songs. Imagine if he was still creating music, in a time when artists themselves decide what to release and when to do it – something that songwriters of his era often were unable to do.

In 2012, the label My Proud Mountain was established specifically for the purpose or releasing the first Songs Of Townes Van Zandt LP, to which the singers and guitarists of the band Neurosis – Scott Kelly and Steve Von Till – and Saint Vitus/The Obsessed’s Scott “Wino” Weinrich contributed nine Van Zandt songs. The goal was to introduce these brilliant works to fans who may have never heard the originals, but through the interpretation of the songs through the mentioned musicians, would lead them to do so.

In 2014, Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. II carried on the tradition, this time featuring songs from John Baizley of Baroness, Nate Hall of US Christmas, and Mike Scheidt of Yob.

And now, 2022 sees Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III seeing release, featuring new renditions of nine classic tracks as interpreted by AMENRA, CAVE IN, and MARISSA NADLER.

The album opening cover of MARISSA NADLER’s ‘Quicksilver Daydreams Of Maria’ cover has been released through a striking video created by Chariot Of Black Moth.

MARISSA NADLER offers, “I’ve been a fan of Townes Van Zandt’s music for nearly as long as I’ve been writing songs. When I was starting out, a friend introduced me to Townes’s music, and I pretty much instantly fell in love with both the rawness of his songs as well as the intense sense of longing expressed within them. His lyrics are haunting and evocative and have inspired me endlessly. These melodies will linger with you, year after year, and hopefully keep you company along the way.”

Watch MARISSA NADLER’s ‘Quicksilver Daydreams Of Maria’ video first through its New Noise Magazine premiere now at THIS LOCATION

Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III will be released in North America through Neurot Recordings and in Europe by My Proud Mountain, on multiple vinyl variants and on CD on April 22nd, and through all digital platforms on July 1st. Preorders for all formats can be found HERE. Also watch AMENRA’s video for ‘Kathleen’ at THIS LOCATION

Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III Track Listing:

  1. Marissa Nadler – Quicksilver Daydreams Of Maria
  2. Amenra – Black Crow Blues
  3. Cave In – Nothin’
  4. Amenra – Kathleen
  5. Cave In – The Hole
  6. Amenra – Flyin’ Shoes
  7. Marissa Nadler – Sad Cinderella
  8. Cave In – At My Window
  9. Marissa Nadler – None But The Rain

Official Site

Official Site